North Dakota State & Local Laws

Ignition Interlock Laws

Review the Laws in your State

Ignition Interlock Laws

  • North Dakota does not mandate the installation of interlock devices for any DUI offenders, but under North Dakota ignition interlock laws any offender may be required to install and maintain a device at the discretion of the court.

License Suspension

North Dakota DUI laws state that a driver may be charged with DUI if he or she is found to have a BAC of .08% or greater while operating a vehicle. If convicted of DUI, a driver faces mandatory license suspension and fines.

For a first-time offender whose BAC was below .16% at the time of arrest, the license suspension period is 91 days.

If a first-time offenders BAC was above .16%, a 2-day jail term is added to the suspension, and the fine is increased from $500 to $750.

For second-time offenders, the suspension lasts one year.

For three-or-more-time offenders, the suspension period is three years.

DUI Penalties and Fees in Wyoming

Offence Penalty
1st Offense Fine: $500 to $750
Jail Time: None
Period of License Suspension: 91 to 180 days
2nd Offense Fine: $600 to $1,000
Jail Time: 10 days
Period of License Suspension: 1 year
3rd Offense Fine: $2,000 minimum
Jail Time: 120 days
Period of License Suspension: 3 years
4th Offense Fine: $2,000 minimum
Jail Time: 180 days
Period of License Suspension: 3 years

Get Your Suspended Drivers License Reinstated

Our goal is to get you back to the road safely and legally, heres how to get your license back

  1. If your license is suspended in North Dakota, due to an alcohol related offense, you may be eligible for Temporary Restricted license.
  2. Request an administrative hearing, you can do this online or in writing.
  3. File proof of financial responsibility (SR-22), this can be purchased from your auto insurance provider.
  4. Pay required reinstatement fee online. You can also mail your payment to Drivers License Division, 608 E. Blvd Ave, Bismarck ND 58505-0750.
  5. You may be required to participate in the 24/7 Sobriety Program.
  6. Fill Out the New Customer Form.
  7. Get the ignition interlock device installed, please make sure to bring all required documents to your appointment.
  8. Pay all other required fees/fines and fulfill all other state requirements.
  9. And youre back on the road! Drive confidently knowing your Draeger Interlock is backed by an extensive network of service centers and 24/7 customer support, we are here to help you every step of the way.
  10. Dont forget we must calibrate and inspect the ignition interlock device regularly to stay compliant with local regulations and ensure your device continues to work properly.

When your restriction period is over, simply contact us to schedule your final service appointment. For more information about driver license suspensions in North Dakota, visit the Department of Transportation website.


Source(s): N.D. Cent. Code 39-08-01, 39-06.1-11 North Dakota Department of Transportation. Retrieved April 17, 2017 from http://www.dot.nd.gov/divisions/safety/penaltiesdrinkingdriving.htm Last Updated: June 21, 2018 DMB Interlock makes every attempt to maintain up-to-date legal information on our website. Other factors may also affect the way your state laws will apply to individual cases. It is advised to always consult with your monitoring authority, attorney, or local court for case-specific information.