Montana State & Local Laws

Ignition Interlock Laws

Review the Laws in your State

Ignition Interlock Laws

  • Montana ignition interlock laws require an ignition interlock device for a driver to regain limited driving privileges if he or she is a repeat offender.
  • First-time offenders are typically not required to install an interlock device in order to apply for reinstated driving privileges.
  • An interlock device may be required at the discretion of the court even for first-time offendersdepending upon the circumstances of the offense.

License Suspension

Administrative Suspension

Montana DUI laws state that drivers who are stopped for suspicion of DUI are required to take a field sobriety test. If the driver fails or refuses to take the test, he or she is subject to an immediate administrative license suspension of one year.

Judicial Suspension

In addition to the administrative suspension, drivers who are convicted of DUI face a court-ordered license suspension. The term of this suspension is six months for a first offense and one year for second and third offenses.

DUI Penalties and Fees in Montana

Offence Penalty
1st Offense Fine: $600 to $1,000
Jail Time: 24 hours to 6 months
Period of License Suspension: 6 months
2nd Offense Fine: $1,200 to $2,000
Jail Time: 7 days to 1 year
Period of License Suspension: 1 year
3rd Offense Fine: $2,500 to $5,000
Jail Time: 30 days to 1 year
Period of License Suspension: 1 year

Get Your Suspended Drivers License Reinstated

Our goal is to get you back to the road safely and legally, heres how to get your license back

  1. After the minimum suspension period is served (if required), you may be eligible for a restricted probationary driver license, this will be determined by the convicting judge.
  2. Pay $200 reinstatement fee and all other required fees/fines.
  3. You may be required to provide proof of financial responsibility (SR-22), this can be obtained from your auto insurance provider.
  4. Fulfil all other requirements set by the court (i.e. sobriety program, educational course).
  5. Fill Out the New Customer Form.
  6. Get the ignition interlock device installed, please make sure to bring all required documents to your appointment.
  7. And youre back on the road! Drive confidently knowing your Draeger Interlock is backed by an extensive network of service centers and 24/7 customer support, we are here to help you every step of the way.
  8. Dont forget we must calibrate and inspect the ignition interlock device regularly to stay compliant with local regulations and ensure your device continues to work properly.

When your restriction period is over, simply contact us to schedule your final service appointment. For more information about license suspension, revocation and reinstatement in Montana, visit the Department of Justice Motor Vehicles Division website.


Source(s): N.D. Cent. Code 39-08-01, 39-06.1-11 North Dakota Department of Transportation. Retrieved April 17, 2017 from http://www.dot.nd.gov/divisions/safety/penaltiesdrinkingdriving.htm Last Updated: June 21, 2018 DMB Interlock makes every attempt to maintain up-to-date legal information on our website. Other factors may also affect the way your state laws will apply to individual cases. It is advised to always consult with your monitoring authority, attorney, or local court for case-specific information.